Board of Directors

Directors are appointed to the Strait Superport Board from a broad cross-section of marine expertise in the Strait area.  The members serve on a volunteer basis and as a result, the Board is comprised of directors that show great leadership and dedication to their community.

The Superport Corporation takes an inclusive approach to Board membership.  The groups that are represented on the Board include: shippers (3), ship service providers (2), municipalities bordering the Strait of Canso (5), provincial government (1), Strait Area Chamber of Commerce (1), and the federal government (1).

Board of Directors


Captain John MacIssac, Chairman


Tony Pierce, Vice Chairman

Municipality of the County of Richmond

Frank Mac Innis, Treasurer

Municipality of the County of Inverness

Paul Long, Secretary

Municipality of the District of Guysborough

Harvey Van Sutphen

Ship Service Providers

Sean Reid


Bert Lewis

Town of Port Hawkesbury

Al England

Town of Mulgrave

Harold Mac Issac

Province of Nova Scotia





Ship Service Provider


Strait Area Chamber of Commerce

Federal Government